Who "invented" chocolate?

Favorite delicacy of all time have come a long and difficult way to go before it earned the honorary title. Despite the abundance of all sorts of indescribable tempting goodies, chocolate still has a special place in the hearts of sweet teeth around the world.

Drink rulers

The first chocolate appeared in this world in the guise of a hot drink from cocoa beans about 3000 years ago. A prepared its craftsmen from tribe-almekov Indians living once in the territory of modern Mexico. Ready recipe perspicacious Maya busily adopted and proclaimed his divine drink. The cocoa beans soon became the most running currency, and also sacrificed to the heavenly patron of cocoa ek chuaj.

cocoa taste attracted not only Indian gods and earthly rulers. A big fan of the drink was the legendary Aztec emperor Montezuma. True submitted to the joy of the lord's father-delivered daily to the palace at least 40 thousand sacks of cocoa beans. A court chefs have even developed a special recipe for the emperor chocolate drink. Cocoa beans and slightly roasted beans triturated with young corn. To sweeten the pleasure of a mixture of added honey, vanilla and agave juice.

The history of making chocolate would be incomplete without poetic legends. One of them tells of a simple Mexican gardener named Quetzalcoatl. All the mental and physical powers he invested in the cultivation of lush gardens. Once in it appeared an ordinary-looking tree, which the gardener called cocoa. And although its fruits were like cucumbers, and their taste was bitter, a thick drink welded from them poured the body into vivacity and drove away sadness. Cocoa fruits brought wealth and fame to Quetzalcoatl, who eventually blinded and corrupted the gardener. As punishment, the gods deprived him of his reason, and with anger, the proud man destroyed his beautiful gardens. Miraculously managed to survive only one ordinary-looking tree of cocoa, which continued to bring to mankind the magic fruits.

Conquest of Europe

Opinions on who first brought chocolate to Europe, have not yet been reduced to a common denominator. According to one version, it was the Spanish conquistador Hernán Cortés in the early 16-century conquered part of Mexico and discovered in the storerooms of Montezuma's rich reserves of the country dried beans. Trophy with recipe beverage preparation was brought to the royal court in Spain.

According to another version, a pioneer of the chocolate was Christopher Columbus. Some historians claim that he was the first European to have tried it on the island of Guyana. However, the bitter taste of the drink and the strange odor of unknown herbs, which was spiced up, disappointed Columbus, and he has not shown to cocoa beans no interest.

Thus, the Spaniards became the first in Europe, the owners of the recipe for a magic drink. And since the volume of cocoa bean deliveries was more than modest, they zealously protected the secret of chocolate recipes from spies from neighboring states.

The rest of Europe learned and fell in love with chocolate only in 1616, when Anna of Austria brought a whole box of cocoa beans to Paris. Soon a wonderful drink was enjoyed in the best aristocratic houses in Europe. However, only men could resist the fortress and bitter bitterness, the ladies overseas treat indulgently rejected. For sweetness in cocoa, try to add cane sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon. But finally the situation was corrected by the British in the beginning of the 18-th century, having decided to dilute hot chocolate with milk. Then the drink and subdued the mild taste of the hearts of society ladies.

Among other things, chocolate has had time to cause confusion bright spiritual minds. The fact that the Catholic Church strictly enforce all regulations of fasting. From the list of allowed to eat product eliminates all that pleasure. Mysterious chocolate has caused heated debate, so the extent of his depravity was asked to identify Pope Pius V. After drinking a cup of badged just once, he sluggishly winced and uttered the following: "Chocolate does not break fasting, the same can not bring this stuff to someone fun! ".

Happiness - the masses

In the early 17-century cacao plantation began to grow, and chocolate came to the people, very quickly won universal love. For a while his fate is controlled by the French. In 1659, David Schein launched the world's first chocolate factory, and in the mid-century 18 across France began to open a private bakery, where guests are offered a flavored drink.

Surprisingly, until 19-world century it was exclusively known chocolate in liquid form. Turn it into our favorite and the familiar tiles guessed Swiss Francois Louis Cailler. He also built the first factory for the production of solid chocolate. Like mushrooms after the rain, such as factories began to appear in Europe. Wanting to bypass the hated rivals, Confectioners desperately trying to invent its own branded recipes by adding chocolate nuts, dried fruits, candied fruits, wine and even beer.

In 1875 was on stage with her head held high left Swiss chocolate, and later became a recognized standard. The secret of its preparation was very simple - cocoa mass, mixed with condensed milk. At the same time, another Swiss Rodolphe Lindt invented a special machine for milling the chocolate mass through which it acquired a more dense and delicate texture.

Today, the technology of making chocolate has not changed significantly. But production volumes have reached a truly cosmic scale and amount to over 4 million tons annually. But the variety of varieties of delicacy is not amenable to any calculations and is constantly updated with new original ideas.

The bar of your favorite chocolate remains to this day the best way to get rid of a bad mood and feel the inspiring euphoria. This magical feeling is not able to darken even the extra calories, because it is the calories of happiness.

Агрегатор новостей Baker-Group

El. mail This e-mail address is protected from spam bots. You need JavaScript enabled to view.

leave a comment

Site search

Most Popular

Recommended materials

<ins>

Кто «изобрел» шоколад?

Любимое лакомство всех времен и народов проделало долгий и трудный путь, прежде чем заслужить это почетное звание. Несмотря на неописуемое изобилие всевозможных соблазнительных вкусностей, шоколад по-прежнему занимает особое место в сердцах сластен всего мира.

Напиток властителей

Впервые шоколад явился на этот свет в обличии горячего напитка из какао-бобов приблизительно 3000 лет назад. А приготовили его умельцы из племени индейцев-альмеков, проживавших некогда на территории современной Мексики. Готовый рецепт деловито переняли прозорливые майя и провозгласили его божественным напитком. В скором времени какао-бобы стали самой ходовой валютой, а кроме того приносились в жертву небесному покровителю какао Эк Чуахе.

Вкус какао приглянулся не только индейским богам, но и земным правителям. Большим поклонником напитка был легендарный император ацтеков Монтесума. Верные поданные на радость отца-владыки ежедневно поставляли во дворец не меньше 40 тысяч мешков какао-бобов. А придворные кулинары даже разработали для императора особый рецепт шоколадного напитка. Какао-бобы слегка обжаривали и растирали с зернами молодой кукурузы. Чтобы подсластить удовольствие в смесь добавляли мед, ваниль и сок агавы.

История создания шоколада была бы неполной без поэтических легенд. Одна из них повествует о простом мексиканском садовнике по имени Кветцалькоатль. Все душевные и физические силы он вкладывал в выращивание пышных садов. Как-то раз в нем появилось невзрачное деревце, которое садовник нарек какао. И хотя плоды его походили на огурцы, а их вкус был горьким, сваренный из них густой напиток наливал тело бодростью и прогонял тоску. Какао-плоды принесли Кветцалькоатлю богатство и славу, которые в итоге ослепили и развратили садовника. В наказание боги лишили его рассудка, и обуреваемым гневом гордец уничтожил свои прекрасные сады. Чудом удалось уцелеть лишь одному невзрачному деревцу какао, которое продолжало приносить человечеству волшебные плоды.

Покорение Европы 

Мнения о том, кто первым привез шоколад в Европу, до сих пор не приведены к единому знаменателю. По одной версии, это был испанский конкистадор Эрнан Кортес, в начале 16-го века завоевавший часть Мексики и обнаруживший в кладовых Монтесумы богатые запасы странных сушеных бобов. Трофей вместе с рецептом приготовления напитка был доставлен к королевскому двору в Испанию.

По другой версии, первооткрывателем шоколада был Христофор Колумб. Некоторые историки утверждают, что именно он первым из европейцев попробовал его на острове Гайана. Однако горький вкус напитка и странный аромат неизвестных трав, которыми он был приправлен, разочаровали Колумба, и он не проявил к какао-бобам никакого интереса.

Таким образом, испанцы стали первыми в Европе обладателями рецепта волшебного напитка. А поскольку объемы поставок какао-бобов были более чем скромными, они рьяно оберегали тайну рецептуры шоколада от шпионов  из соседних государств.  

Остальная Европа узнала и полюбила шоколад лишь в 1616 году, когда Анна Австрийская привезла целый ящик какао-бобов в Париж. В скором времени дивным напитком наслаждались в лучших аристократических домах Европы. Впрочем, устоять перед крепостью и терпкой горечью могли только мужчины, дамы заморское угощение снисходительно отвергали. Для сладости в какао пробовали добавлять тростниковый сахар, мускатный орех и корицу. Но окончательно положение исправили англичане в начале 18-го века, решив разбавить горячий шоколад молоком. Тогда-то напиток и покорил мягким вкусом сердца светских дам.

Помимо прочего, шоколад успел стать причиной разброда светлых духовных умов. Дело в том, что католическая церковь строго следила за соблюдением всех предписаний поста. Из списка разрешенных к употреблению продуктов исключалось все, что доставляло удовольствие. Загадочный шоколад стал причиной жарких споров, поэтому степень его греховности было поручено определить Папе Пию V. Отпив из поднесенной чашечки всего один раз, он вяло поморщился и изрек следующее: «Шоколад поста не нарушает, не может же такая гадость приносить кому-то удовольствие!».

Счастье – в массы

В начале 17-го века какао-плантации стали разрастаться, и шоколад вышел в народ, очень быстро завоевав всеобщую любовь. Некоторое время дальнейшей его судьбой управляли французы. В 1659 году Давид Шайн запустил первую в мире шоколадную фабрику, а уже в середине 18-го века по всей Франции стали открывать частные кондитерские, где гостям предлагали ароматный напиток.

Удивительно, но вплоть до 19-го столетия миру был известен шоколад исключительно в жидком виде. Превратить его в наши любимые и такие привычные плитки догадался швейцарец Франсуа Луи Кайе. Он же построил первую фабрику по производству твердого шоколада. Как грибы после дождя такие же фабрики стали появляться в Европе. Желая обойти ненавистных конкурентов, кондитеры отчаянно пытались изобрести собственные фирменные рецепты, добавляя в шоколад орехи, сухофрукты, цукаты, вино и даже пиво.

В 1875 году на сцену с гордо поднятой головой вышел швейцарский шоколад, позже ставший признанным эталоном. Секрет его приготовления оказался весьма простым – какао-масса, смешанная со сгущенным молоком. В это же время еще один швейцарец Рудольф Линдт изобрел особую машину для вальцевания шоколадной массы, благодаря которой она приобретала более густую и нежную консистенцию.

Сегодня технология изготовления шоколада изменилась не значительно. Зато объемы производства достигли поистине космических масштабов и составляют свыше 4 миллионов тонн ежегодно. А вот разнообразие сортов лакомства не поддается никаким подсчетам и постоянно пополняется новыми оригинальными идеями. 

Плитка любимого шоколада  и по сей день остается лучшим способом избавиться от скверного настроения и ощутить окрыляющую эйфорию. Это волшебное ощущение не способны омрачить даже лишние калории, поскольку это калории счастья.

Агрегатор новостей Baker-Group

Эл. почта Этот адрес электронной почты защищён от спам-ботов. У вас должен быть включен JavaScript для просмотра.

Оставить комментарий

Календарь

« Декабрь 2016 »
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Рекомендуемые материалы